Who’s Who?

Swimming Teachers and Coaches

Ben MullenChairbenjaminmullen@hotmail.com
Helen GilesVice Chair, Treasurerhelen.giles@blueyonder.co.uk
Helen ShoreWelfare OfficerHelenShore1@hotmail.com
Josh JobbinsLead Coachj.jobbins23@hotmail.com
Andrej BaranovskijTechnical Lead & Coachkonduit@gmail.com
David CousinsCoachswimdnc@btinternet.com
Vashti WyattSecretaryvashti_wyatt@yahoo.co.uk
Sue Rees ASA Membership Coordinatorsuesswimmers@hotmail.co.uk
Polly MullenSwim Academy & Membership CoordinatorBristolPenguins.membership@outlook.com
Jeremy DudleyGala Results, Personal Bests, Open Meetssbdpumbaa@blueyonder.co.uk
Myles StevensCompetition Secretary
Kim YfimcevKit kimyfimcev@googlemail.com

Josh Jobbins – Lead Coach

An ASA qualified as a Level 2 coach, Josh has been helping out with Penguins last year and is now going to be the Lead Coach for Penguins.

Josh can be contacted at j.jobbins23@hotmail.com

Andrej Baranovskij – Technical Lead and coach

Andrej is in charge of the technical planning and swimming programme for Penguins, in conjunction with Josh, David and Jason and the committee. Andrej is a level 2 coach leads the masters squad and coaches several nights a week for Penguins. 

Email Andrej at konduit@gmail.com

David Cousins – Coach

David has been coaching and volunteering for Penguins for many years. He works closely with Jon and the rest of the team to help swimmers reach their full potential.

Email David at swimdnc@btinternet.com

Jason Silcox – Coach

Jason is a level 3 qualified coach who teaches the swim academy and also coaches higher level swimmers within Penguins. 

Ben Mullen – Chair, swimming teacher and coach

Ben has been helping out at Penguins for over 10 years. He is an enthusiastic and inspiring coach and teacher and is always looking at ways to improve Penguins further. Ben can be found at most galas and at poolside much of the week teaching at the Swim Academy or coaching the older swimmers.

To speak to Ben, email him on benjaminmullen@hotmail.com

Helen Giles – Vice Chair, treasurer, swimming teacher and coach

Helen’s children both swum with Penguins and Helen has been helping out with the club for many years. A committed volunter, Helen has several committee roles as well as teaching at the Swim Academy and coaching at Easton.

Daniel Kolar – Coach

Dan coaches and is also a member of the masters squad.

Kim Greening – Swimming teacher

Kim is Swim Academy teacher, who has been with Penguins for many years.

Polly Mullen – Swim Academy Coordinator, membership coordinator, finance support and swimming teacher

Polly enjoys teaching the young swimmers in the Swim Academy and watching them grow into competent swimmers and move on into the main squads.

Scott Tanner – Coach and committee member

Scott has been swimming with Penguins for many years and is a vital part of the coaching team, committee and masters squad.

Sue Rees –  ASA membership and swimming teacher

Many people will not know the volume of work Sue does at Penguins, but she does much behind scenes as well as coach the squads at Easton. Sue attends most galas and either helps out on the desk or officiates. The club championships have also been organised by Sue for many years.

Helen Shore – Welfare officer

Helen is our lead contact for DBS checks and for any problems children may have with teachers, coaches or other children within the club.

Tom Probert – Coach

As a masters swimmer and coach, Tom contributes to the Penguins community.


Jeanette Kelly – UBSC rep and conduct committee member

 Vashti Wyatt – Secretary 

Vashti is our secretary.

Jeremy Dudley – President, Officials Coordinator, Gloucester County Rep and Results

Jeremy has helped out at Penguins for many years and does much work back scene typing up results from galas, attending many meetings and helping to plan the way forward for Penguins.

Kelly Paterson – Press Officer

Kelly writes the newsletter for Penguins.


Alastair Broster

Adrian Clarkson

David Cousins

Jeremy Dudley

Jonathan Lucas

Helen Giles

Hilary Miller

Annette Billing

Brian Henniker

James Hodey

Melaine Jonik

Polly Mullen

Simon Garside

Susie Lyon

Sophie Turner

Martyn Quick

Phil Cox